About Me

I was born in Luton, known for hat making, Vauxhall cars, London Luton Airport and a great football team who once beat Arsenal at Wembley in a Cup Final, currently languishing in non-league football for the 4th season. I moved to Edinburgh in 1990 and now live in Leith, Edinburgh's 'waterfront'.

Married for 24 years to Louise (who is on day release from Fife), I have 4 children: Holly (aged 28) who's studying medicine at Dundee University, William (aged 26) at the Army Foundation College, Harrogate, Alice (aged 23) and Maddie (aged 16).

We live in a 226 year old Georgian house which we are slowly renovating. We once had a note from an artist posted through the letterbox asking if our semi-derelict house was available to rent as studio space. Things have improved lately; the stonework has been repaired and we have shiny new railings. Just the inside to do now then.

Current CNPS score: 999


Header Image: Richard Bloomfield

Recent Comments

Flickr Photos

Google Reader Shared Items

    Shared Items

    Sun, sea and barbie

    Scotland has some beautiful beaches, a few of which are only a stone’s throw from home, but it rarely has the weather to enjoy them, Sunday being no exception.

    We were invitied on a day trip to Yellowcraigs, a lovely sandy beach about 20 miles away, by trusty neighbours Frank’n’Steph. In keeping with the cosmopolitan nature of Leith, the full party consisted of: Louise (token Scot), Me (Luton), Frank (Manchester), Steph (Canada/Germany), Mieche (Frankfurt, Germany), Mel (Darwin, Australia), Stuart (Belfast) and of course the kids (all natives).

    Despite the heavy cloud, it was warm enough and at least we didn’t have to worry about sunburn. Mid-afternoon the weather front finally crossed with a short downpour and people left the beach in droves. We huddled round the barbie and half an hour later and we were rewarded with some sunshine to round off a very pleasant afternoon.

    It was Mel’s first visit to a Scottish beach which she politely described as ‘different’. Hailing from Darwin in The Northern Territories where the temperature rarely drops below 30° C, she must have thought we were all bloody mad.

    By coincidence, my eldest daughter, Holly, was at her class barbeque at the same beach. She is just finishing the last year of Primary School (P7) and faces the daunting step up to a new school in August.